What’s in a name?

People often ask me what my little one’s name means, and even when I was pregnant and they would ask what her name would be; they’d ask if I’d pick something that meant something. And the truth is, it’s 50:50. Her name does definitely carry a lot of meaning, and the meanings from each name are all unique to our little miracle. So there was definitely a lot of work that went into choosing it. That’s why I kept her name secret until she was born. I needed to be sure it was going to be perfect for her. Perfect for her little story of life.  So here’s where her name has come from, and what it means to us ❤

Emelia – An alternative to Amelia. Amelia is a latin name, which doesn’t mean a whole lot to me. But it does mean industrious and striving. I loved the name Amelia well before my little lady was even created – but of course looking through names and their meanings when you’re actually pregnant is hard. I took a long time to settle on it. But decided in the end all I want for my baby girl is a good life. And to have a good life, and to succeed in life you have to persevere. You have to set goals and strive to be the very best you can. I hope and pray that my little lady does.

Michelle – This is an alternation to my Grandfather Michael. Who I’m very very close with. Growing up my Grandad and I were very close. He supported me through thick and thin and was always there for me. We had a bit of a rough patch the year before last where we nearly lost him – and he’s still very unwell. I prayed and prayed that when he was sick he would stick around to be there and meet my children. And I like to think that somewhere some angels heard me – and they’re what brought him back. I decided to hyphenate the Michelle, onto Emelia as her complete first name so that the Michelle doesn’t ever get forgotten. To keep it separate from her actual middle name. Michael means who is like god, and so does Michelle.

Alexis – Her middle name. Alexis only came to me actually 2 days before she was born. She still had no middle name – other than potentially Michelle. But I wanted her to have her own unique name as well in there. I just had no idea what. It actually came to me in a dream, Wednesday night. She was born Friday night, So I can’t help but think it was meant to be. It means noble, and light. And she is definitely the light of my life and many others around her as well. I always feel some connection comes from the little bean and my first pregnancy – I never quite felt like that little bean was meant to leave us, so the fact that Alexis means light after all that I think is quite special.

 

Leave a comment